What’s in your makeup bag?

Since this is a fashion and beauty blog, it only makes sense to show you what I’ve got in my makeup bag. It’s not the biggest collection by any means (plus, I’m at my parents’ house, so a lot of my makeup is back home), but these are the items I find myself reaching for almost daily, and I figured you may enjoy seeing what I use! So, without further ado…

p1

Foundation: No7 Instant Radiance in Calico

I bought this fairly recently. By which I mean, Tuesday. I bought this on Tuesday. After a week of using it (I say a week because the wonderful lady in Boots gave me a free sample, which I used before actually buying it), I am pleased to say, this is the best foundation I’ve ever used. The colour is perfect for my skin (it should be, really, I did get colour matched with their funky little gadget), and the coverage is light, and leaves a wonderful dewey after glow. I think I may invest in one of their heavier versions at some point, for nights out, as I don’t feel the coverage is enough for a situation like that, but for daytime wear at work and casually, this is a brilliant product. I bought it for £12.50, which I feel is a good price for foundation; not so cheap that it’s going to be rubbish, but not so expensive that your bank account will cry.

ph3

Concealer and Eyeliner: Mac Pro-Longwear (NW25), and Fluidline Gel Eyeliner (Blacktrack)

I bought these both on a trip to NYC in January, and this photo was taken today. As you can see, I still have about a quarter of the concealer remaining, and there’s also about two thirds of the eyeliner left as well, so I suppose you really do get what you pay for. I used both of the products almost daily, so they have real lasting power. I really love this concealer, as it gives excellent coverage, and the tone really lifts the skin under my eyes. It’s excellent also for hiding blemishes, and blends really well with my foundation. The gel eyeliner is to die for; thick and creamy, it goes on really well (though I recommend slightly dampening your brush for smooth application), and lasts all day. It also smudges well, if you’re looking for a smokey effect. Slightly on the pricey side; these cost me $20 for the concealer, which is about £13, and $16 for the eyeliner, which is about £10. In England, the concealer is £17.50, and the eyeliner is £16, so I did save a little by getting them from America.

p4

Eyeshadow: Accessorize Exposed Pallet

This was a surprising find; bought from their sales for £3.60, I only bought it because I was pretty desperate for an eyeshadow pallet. However, I was overwhelmingly shocked at just how good this pallet is; the colours are natural and suit my complexion really well, and they’re quite highly pigmented. They also have brilliant staying power, hanging around all day without flaws. For such a small price, I really feel like these are a bargain. Okay, so they aren’t Charlotte Tilbury, or Mac, but they’re not half bad!

p2

Makeup Brushes: Eco-Tools

I love these brushes a lot; I have the entire basics collection, but these are the only two I had on hand at the time (they’re also the two I use the most). The hairs are really soft, almost plush, and the handles are lovely to hold. They clean easily, and they apply makeup well. The angled brush is the perfect accompaniment to my Mac Fluidline, and it works really well for creating the ideal cat eye flicks. The eyeshadow brush (not pictured) applies really well as well, creating beautiful, highly pigmented designs.

ph1

Mascara: Benefit “They’re Real!”

Hands down, this is my favourite mascara that I’ve ever used. It applies amazingly well, with next to no clumps, but also applies thickly, creating wide, open eyes, almost doe-like. It’s long lasting, and the brush feels great to use. Its design means it’s easy to apply, and it creates an effect of fake eyelashes with almost no effort at all. A firm favourite, always. I’ve not yet found a mascara that beats it!

ph4

Powder: Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Powder

This is an old favourite; it’s not particularly expensive, nor is it the best. I’ve been looking for a good pressed powder for a long time, and this is a good old stand in until I find the one I love. It’s slightly too dark for me, so I don’t often wear it until I’m going out at night, but it has a nice feel to it. It makes skin feel soft, and creates a nice matt effect.

ph5Kohl Eyeliner: Rimmel Soft Kohl Pencil

Another old favourite, there’s nothing particularly special about this eyeliner, other than it’s pretty good value for money. It’s one I’ve found myself going back to; whilst it’s nothing outstanding, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with it, and would should I fix something that isn’t broken?

ph2

Moisturiser: Body Shop Vitamin C Glow Boosting

I bought this on a whim about a month ago, and it is divine. It smells amazing, sort of like Calpol, but better, if anyone remembers that smell? Lightly citrusy, and it feels fantastic on; it’s like bathing in dry cold. Unbelievably soothing, and great for the skin. One thing I will say is that if you have oily skin, avoid this; I have dry skin, and it’s perfect for me, but if your skin has a lot of natural oil, it’s likely to make it quite greasy.

p5

Perfume: Daisy So Fresh by Marc Jacobs

My mum bought this for my birthday a couple of weeks ago, and it has been the perfume I’ve been reaching for every day. The website describes the scents used as:

Top Notes: ruby red grapefruit, raspberry, green leaves, pear

Heart Notes: violet, wild rose, apple blossom, lychee, jasmine petals

Base Notes: musks, plum, cedarwood

It smells amazing, very light and fresh. I wear it for work a lot, as it goes very well with the brand I work for. The strongest scents, I would say, are the grapefruit, pear, and apple blossom, which come through a lot.

p3

Sign off

Leave a Reply

