Pink Parcel: July Box Review

A couple of weeks ago, I was scrolling through Facebook, feeling anxious about something that doesn’t need to be talked about (well, it does, but I’m not going to). I saw a post from my best friend about something that just intrigued me from the second I saw it (and was quite relevant to my anxiety), so like a shot, I went to investigate more. The post was, of course, about Pink Parcel.

Pink Parcel is a subscription box tailored towards individuals with vaginas. That menstruate. Now we’ve got the nasties out of the way, we can look at the goodies; Pink Parcel isn’t like any other subscription box. Once a month, you get sent a box full of sanitary towels or tampons, depending on your preference, in your choice of brand (I want for Always Infinity Normal Plus with wings), for both day and nighttime. They’re good quality brands, and, to be honest, worth half of the cost of the box alone, if you went to a supermarket to get them. They come in three “boxes”; for later, for nighttime, and for now, though “now” wasn’t in a box, it was in an adorable little cloth pouch easy for slipping into your handbag.

The other box inside the box (anyone else feel like they’re playing pass the parcel when they receive this box) is for you. And let me tell you; this month (also my first month) was amazing! This month, I paid just £5.95 for my box, as it was my first, but the subscription is usually £9.99, both prices of which include postage costs.

photo 2

photo 3

Organic Surge: Intensive Smoothing Serum

This was one of the products I was most interested in receiving. On the Organic Surge website, this product alone was £23.50, nearly four times what I paid for my box, and it certainly did not fail to please. Smelling lightly of roses, the smoothing serum feels lovely on the skin, leaving it soft and hydrated. It says to apply between cleanser and moisturiser, though I think you could possibly get away with moisturiser on some days, if you don’t want to be applying so much product to your face. The serum is oil based, and glides onto skin, leaving behind a faint scent of roses, and the feeling of velvet.

photo 1photo 3

L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Mascara 

Another product I was really looking forward to (though I don’t think any mascara will ever beat Benefit’s They’re Real), the L’Oreal didn’t disappointed. Found on the Boots website here for £10.99, again, this is another product that massively exceeds the price of the Pink Parcel itself. The mascara applies well, without any clumps thanks to a specially designed container. I have to say, it’s quite a light mascara, so if you want more of an extreme effect, you’ll probably want something a bit thicker (highly recommend They’re Real…). No qualms with this mascara though, as it makes the eyes pop nicely, and I got it for a fraction of the price! The photo below shows a comparison between with the mascara on, and without.

photo 5mascara

Green People Scent Free Sun Lotion

As someone with super pale skin, I like to ensure I’m wearing sun lotion when I’m likely to be out for a long time. I don’t tend to burn or tan, but I’m aware that my paleness always means there’s higher risk. This sun lotion is incredibly lightly scented, so not quite scent free, but close enough. It feels like on the skin, and not greasy at all, which is great. It absorbs quickly, meaning that it won’t go all over your clothes as soon as you’ve applied it. This was a small sample size (though still fairly big), but the 100ml version their website is down as £12.99, and the sample size isn’t much smaller, so, again, a really well priced product.

photo 4 photo 5

Mad Beauty Cocktail Shaker Lip Balm

This is such a cute design for a lip balm, I absolutely love it. I was lucky enough to get my favourite cocktail flavour, Pina Colada, so that was a lovely surprise. The balm smells amazing, really coconutty and fresh, and it feels lovely when being applied, smooth and waxy. The only thing I was a little disappointed with is that the lip balm is only scented; no delicious taste of coconut! Then again, if it was flavoured, I think I’d just eat it, so there’s that. The packaging is lovely, and it’s just something a bit different. These retail at around £3-4.

photo 1 photo 2

Bandzees

As someone with not a lot of hair, I was surprisingly excited about these! I’m growing my hair out at the moment, and it’s about to reach that awkward length where it’s better to just tie it up and forget it exists for a month or so, so these are ideal for me. There were a few different designs you could get, and sadly, I didn’t get the ones I was hoping for (nautical), but I also didn’t get the ones I really hated (neon), so it isn’t all bad. Can’t be lucky twice! The red design of my Bandzees are fairly cute though, and I do actually really like them. They’re also really nice to wear as an accessory (which I’m going to be doing for a bit longer yet), and feel like they really will live up to their promise of being snag free. As you can’t buy Bandzees yet, there is no retail price, but I’m going to hazard a guess at £3-5. Ignore my Fitbit in the photo!

photo 4 photo 3

Cocoba Drinking Chocolate

I’ve seen these a lot in shops before, and I’m really looking forward to trying this! I’m hoping it’s going to be more like drinking melted chocolate than hot chocolate, as that’s the flavour I normally prefer. Didn’t feel like trying this today though (bit too warm outside), so this will have to wait for another day.

Novus Citrus Chamomile

Anyone who knows me will know about my cupboard. Yes. My cupboard. It’s a beautiful cupboard. It has at least ten different types of tea (and I mean actual tea, like Darjeeling and Oolong and Earl Grey and Ceylon), and about twenty types of herbal infusions. Basically, I really, really love tea. I hoard the stuff. It’s dangerous for my bank account. So safe to say, I’m looking forward to trying this. Think I’m going to leave it until my period starts though, and drink it when I’m ready to murder my family, which is a once a month feeling, every month. They’re still alive though, don’t worry!

Overall

I’m impressed. Seriously. So impressed. It seems Pink Parcel have really upped their game – looking on review websites, they clearly haven’t had the best delivery service before now, but have recently swapped to tracked Royal Mail, which is working much better. I had my tracking emails sent at good times, and it arrived well before my period (I’m due to start next Tuesday), so the timing was perfect. I love all of the products, and value the box at around £50, so it’s a huge saving. Really impressed, will definitely be ordering another.

Sign off

One thought on “Pink Parcel: July Box Review

Leave a Reply

